DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings to all.

I am new to the EV world and I am starting on my electric motorcycle conversion. I acquired some a123 26650 batteries, used, but in good condition still. They were built in packs of 40V for electric buses.

Anyways, I am planning my pack design as I have almost all of the components to start building the pack.

I have attached the layout of what my thoughts were. With my tight dimensions I have with my bike, I am doing a 28S 17P pack. I am more concerned about the individual connections to make sure I have the right concept.

Please let me know your guys thoughts of what I can do. I am doing 17 "layers" of the 28 cell blocks. a 4 x 7 block is the 28 cell block layer so to say. The top view is what each block looks like and have those stacked 17 times to achieve my desired dimensions.

Attachments

·
Registered
6,200 Posts
It looks like that's actually a 7S17P4S configuration (strings of four cells in series are connected with 17 strings in parallel then four of those 4x17 sheets are connected in series), unless there are somehow connections vertically between layers at every cell junction. What is the plan for a BMS?

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The middle block has them wrapped like a snake where the positive end is on the top left corner and the negative is the bottom right. making the 4x7 area a 28S if I am looking at it correctly. The attached document may help as the green is the series connection, the teal is the parallel connection and then you have your positive and negative leads off the ends.

The BMS I have is ZEVA modules. I have 3 of the 12 unit modules only using 28 out of the 36 available spots for this configuration.

Attachments

·
Registered
6,200 Posts