DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am just getting started and I'm looking for options for my battery and charging. My design runs at 500v-600v, so regardless of what battery technology I use, I will need a way to charge this very large number of cells in series.

Can anyone briefly explain how this is done? It is necessary to generate one very large charging voltage, or is it more common to charge each cell, or small parts of the battery separately with multiple isolated chargers?

What role does the BMS play in charging?

·
Registered
7,791 Posts
I am just getting started and I'm looking for options for my battery and charging. My design runs at 500v-600v, so regardless of what battery technology I use, I will need a way to charge this very large number of cells in series.

Can anyone briefly explain how this is done? It is necessary to generate one very large charging voltage, or is it more common to charge each cell, or small parts of the battery separately with multiple isolated chargers?

Hi cat,

With questions like these, I recommend you stop and rethink your plan. High voltage like that will kill you in a heartbeat, or somebody else. For a beginner on a first BEV, start small. Like a cart or bike. 48 volts is relatively safe and nonlethal. Or if you insist on converting a car, keep it under 200 V. Everybody makes mistakes and draws a spark or two. You want to learn from those experiences, not die.

major

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I suppose my main question is whether the common solution is:

1) charging several BMS managed packs in series from a single high voltage supply
2) charging each BMS managed pack separately with a number of isolated supplies
3) design a very large (100+ cell) BMS as a single unit

Any examples of how large packs are wired would be appreciated. I suspect an understanding of how a BMS operates internally will help so I'll look into this.

·