DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all new to this, I have built a AC cobra from scratch so know a bit 馃, I have now moved on and sold her, ok next project, basic micra K10 conversion. I won't to use the engine as the base and keep the gearbox, to keep the look anf feel of the original car, I have taken the pistons out and basic auxiliary units, but an reinstalled the altinator, so now need advise on the DC motor, don't won't speed just advise, I am a parts manager for a body shop and have taken a tesla training course so know a bit especially on safety 馃憤, sorry babeling, and spelling not good 馃槙 to old to change. A back to question Best DC motor, cheep being the word 馃槀 shunt DC 3000rpm? Help please 馃檹 ken

Registered
I won't to use the engine as the base and keep the gearbox, to keep the look anf feel of the original car, I have taken the pistons out and basic auxiliary units, but an reinstalled the altinator, so now need advise on the DC motor, don't won't speed just advise, I am a parts manager for a body shop and have taken a tesla training course so know a bit especially on safety 馃憤, sorry babeling, and spelling not good 馃槙 to old to change. A back to question Best DC motor, cheep being the word 馃槀 shunt DC 3000rpm? Help please 馃檹 ken
I assume that was supposed to be "I want to use the engine as the base..." It appears that you are keeping the engine in a weird half-gutted disabled form. Why? Are you trying to maximize the weight, complication, and inefficiency of the conversion?

The rational approach if you want to use the original transmission and a DC motor, used by essentially everyone else, is to completely remove the engine and all of its accessories and mount the motor to the transmission with a housing adapter and a shaft coupler.

The motor choice doesn't matter if the rest of the design is not workable.

Registered
Discussion Starter #3