DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All,
I'm new to the world of conversions and trying very hard to navigate all of the different EV Kits. I don't have the money to build a super car, but I'd like to build something that is scalable.
Could I use a cheaper kit with a higher voltage range so that I could upgrade the motor in the future? Does this even make sense?
I have also been looking at using a Nissan Leaf as my kit, but I see a lot of people have issues when attempting the Leaf transplant.
Could someone suggest a nice middle of the road kit? Or offer advice on the Leaf conversion. This will be my first attempt to do any kind of conversion and I'm not sure electrically inclined...

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I already have the car and it's just sitting there wasting away...

·
Registered
74 Posts
Hello, and welcome. I am no expert, and at the rate I am going, will not be driving my project for another year (if there are not any more crazy world shattering events to mess up my plans). Even with a bit of battery background, I still remember just how daunting it was to get started. It seems to me that the first thing you need to do is decide what it is you want, and how much you are willing to spend to get it. If your only goal is to be driving a little compact car past the gas station - a used leaf is hard to beat for the money.