DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We are doing a conversion for our company vehicle. I am very familiar with the smaller Curtis, Alltrax, and Logisystem controllers. However, I am a novice when It comes to the higher end controllers and motors. I have heard a lot of good things about the Soliton, but for half the price I can get the 120v Curtis. I have a customer here in town, getting great results with the Curtis at about 50 miles per charge, with daily freeway use. We are on a tight budget for this project, but will be spending a lot of it on the controller. We have a great inside connection for AC drives and AC motors, but not for DC/AC inverters. :( What is the best higher voltage dc controller for the buck?

Until someone creates an affordable DC/AC inverter like Prius, DC is where we are heading with this project.

The Prius inverter might work, we will be trying to gather the 280+ volts it needs to start testing it. (Sorted through years of info and wiring diagrams, but still no headway besides basic inputs and outputs.)

Prius Inverter

In conclusion, what's the best controller for the money?
I can get top of the line AC motors, so will the Prius Inverter work in a stand alone enviroment?

13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
@ dtbaker,

Thank you for your input, I really appreciate it.

What kind of flexibility do others offer? Computer programmable? This project's second phase includes a diesel generator, I may need the flexibility.

I was maybe looking into the AC curtis with the Regen capability, so I could send the generator power into the aux regen input (if it has one, I also hear they can get pretty hot). Does the Soliton or any of the big namers have regen capabilities? Not so much for diverting the generator power to, I will do that with a separate system, but for extending the range with the regen.

I wanted to take a solid 40-50 mile range system, then experiment with the generator from there.