DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am having a hard time selecting the proper bms for my 32650 lifepo4 build 27s18p, 97.2 when fully charged and 300A discharge current peak for a 10kw motor with 30kw peak. I have little knowledge about the charger as well, but I understand the power balance current is related to bms-charger? will one BMS fit this build? or should i divide my build in 2, 3 or 4 battery packs? I really need some guidance on how to select the bms, for the charger, one with 25A charge current and 110v i have read is good...
I am planning on buying a good quality BMS from alibaba, aliexpress
the battery is a 32650 3.2nominal voltage, planning on a 3.6 charge and a 2.5 discharge

·
Registered
151 Posts
Hi,
First, you need to know the job of the BMS.

A BMS is needed to make sure that no cell goes too high or too low, and alert you or shut off power.
When charging, if a cell goes too high it can explode.
When discharging, if a cell goes too low it'll die (but quietly).
So charging is where the BMS is most important, because it's for safety.

Try not to run the discharge power through the BMS. Use a voltmeter and when the pack gets low, go charge it.
Charge power should go through BMS so it can be shut off if a cell goes too high.

No idea about charger, anyone else have ideas?
-Isaac

·
Registered
739 Posts
No need for charge current to go through the BMS, it can cut at the charger switch or its input with a contactor.

Besides cell-level HVC and LVC there also needs to be OCP and against shorts, could just be fuses.

And balancing cell-level voltages, dozens of philosophy and device choices there too.

Not a straightforward topic.

·
Registered
151 Posts
No need for charge current to go through the BMS, it can cut at the charger switch or its input with a contactor.
This is just how the cheapest e-bike style BMSs handle HVC (and LVC too) so it's easy to implement :)