DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 67 Posts

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I'm starting a new project. I've been wanting to do an BMW series 5 e39 conversion for several years now. I was giving up of this car because they are almost in very bad condition because of rust and they are not good care . I was looking for cupe e46 or e46 sedan , but they are not so good quality and suspension ar also weak. They are also expencive.
Last week I found perfect car for my conversion . It is BMW 520i e39 97 year. It is in very good condition , no rust at all . Inside is almost new. It has some parts to be replaced but nothing serious. He has roof window, wich was priority and collor is also that I like. One month ago I bought Tesla battery from S 85 , 9 modules . That's 47kwh power.
I have some experience in car conversion. Two years ago I converted an old Opel Kadett.
http://www.diyelectriccar.com/forums/showthread.php/opel-kadett-conversion-matija-167650.html
And it very good and reliable conversion, Now it has about 18000 km and still going with no problems .

Now I'm looking for powertrain... These days it is working on hacking Tesla drive train, nissan leaf drive train. But they are working on 400 V and I'm scare to play with this high voltage. Don't know if this will working reliable...
For instance if I took Tesladrivetrain , I'll put it on the car gearbox with cluch. There is no room on the car for complete tesla motor+inverter+diferential on the car because of car rear axle carrier...
Don't know if is possible to separate tesla motor and inverter from original diferential..
Other easiest way is to put some plug and play motor , like warp 9 and Solitron class motor.. the woltage will be about 220V. This is ok for me..
I will see what will hapend in few months.
Some suggestions are welcome :)

·
Registered
285 Posts