DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a '98 Bombardier NEV 72 volt by 6-12volt batteries. rebattery Recommendations please. I want value and run time. Thanks.

·
Registered
1,900 Posts
Calb has the best test results I've seen and a poll confirms they are the best value for Lifepo4 cells. You can expect to pay about $1.25/ah. I've no idea what your vehicle is though or what you need from it.

Run time is proportional to your wallet thickness and available space and weight capacity of course. Though lead is cheaper up front, long term Calb is the best bet. My lead pack cost me $2200 I think it was. I've gotten 7000 miles from them and they still run pretty well but I recharge usually before 50%dod. Not sure how much more life is in them though.

However in winter with the batteries at 50F or so, the mileage is down about 40% I'd guess from summer temps.

·
Registered
1,900 Posts
Back in probably September I drove 31 miles driving VERY EASY. When the batteries were new I drove in cold weather just over 20 and it died. They have only 7000 miles on them now. Summer is always better with lead. The other day I drove about 13 miles with heat and lights on and the last half mile or so it was really starting to sag which is what it does when close to empty. So that's over 50% drop off but lights and heat on so I'm guessing it's around 40% otherwise.

If you can afford it, go with lithium. Prices have really come down since 08 when I built it.

·
Registered
165 Posts