DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

Extreme newbie here.

Just curious as to if anyone has been able to modify a standard gs450h ev system to be able to run a power boost for a short period of time in the original vehicle?

I have read a heap of the threads about conversions, but has anyone done a power increase in the actual gs450h and kept all other standard features and functions working?

·
Registered
165 Posts
Just curious as to if anyone has been able to modify a standard gs450h ev system to be able to run a power boost for a short period of time in the original vehicle?
What do you mean by power boost? Do you mean pushing more amps through the motor and inverter?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
What do you mean by power boost? Do you mean pushing more amps through the motor and inverter?
[/Q

Yes.

I know Mg1 and Mg2 are capable of a much greater output via increasing amps through the system. Has anyone used Damiens board and run it in the standard vehicle whilst stopping the Main ECU from restricting the outputs?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Yes.

I know Mg1 and Mg2 are capable of a much greater output via increasing amps through the system. Has anyone used Damiens board and run it in the standard vehicle whilst stopping the Main ECU from restricting the outputs?

·
Super Moderator
1,354 Posts
Damien's board replaces the original brain board in the controller.

I'm not sure how well the OEM ECU would appreciate the controller missing the entire motor assembly.

You basically just want a souped up GS450H, like an old style pram performance chip?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Damien's board replaces the original brain board in the controller.

I'm not sure how well the OEM ECU would appreciate the controller missing the entire motor assembly.

You basically just want a souped up GS450H, like an old style pram performance chip?