DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, this is my first post on here and I am new to the EV world so please be easy on me.

The idea:
I need some help figuring out a design and setup for a EV side by side.
I would like to have two individual motors, one connected directly to the front differential and one to the rear. I need 4wd quite often and also like the idea that if I cook one motor I could still potentially use the other one to get home. The plan as of now is to use Polaris RZR differentials, the stock drive ratio is around 3.70:1 and there are plenty of aftermarket parts that would allow me to drop the ratio down lower. Also I intend on using portal drive hubs that add another 4:1 gear reduction. The plan is to use 32"tires.

It would be a 4 seat design that I will build myself. So I can put a fair amount of batteries in the floor and also under the seats.

The goal is to be able to hit speeds of 50mph, have plenty of torque to get over rocks, through mud bogs and up mountains.
The longest distance I ha e taken my current side by side is 35miles into the Alaska backcountry so I would need to be able to get out that far and return.
Goal weight is under 2000lbs

What type of motors would I need for something like this?
How much battery capacity would I need for 60mile range?
How would I make sure that both front and rear are running at the same speed to prevent binding?

Thanks everyone

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
4,579 Posts
How much battery capacity would I need for 60mile range?
The usual approach is to guess an energy consumption per mile (300 Wh/mi or more) and multiply by the desired range, but it will be hard to find a good comparison for off-road consumption.

How would I make sure that both front and rear are running at the same speed to prevent binding?