DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, first time poster here. I have searched this forum on Brusa info and did not come up with much. I have read the manual on the 513 and it doesn't have info on connecting to it with the serial port on a laptop using terminal or charge star.

My Brusa quit charging and now I must hook up to it using the laptop, does anyone know if there are pictures anywhere or anyplace that might describe what pins I am suppose to connect to on the end of the serial cable opposite the computer? I just need to see if there are error codes or what is stopping it from charging.

I read the Brusa manual and know what pins in the Brusa to plug into but how do I plug those three wires into one end of the serial port cable that will be plugged into my laptop. Sorry, I am a complete rookie here. If anyone can point me to some info on this I would appreciate it.

http://www.evalbum.com/1892

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you! I was able to find the first link in a manual. I googled up a storm and never found the info on your second link. Thanks again this helps a lot. :)

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I see both pages are in the manual. How the hell did I miss the page on serial ports. :eek:

Ground on the Brusa is either pin 15 or 1. I would try 15 first. Looks fairly striaght forward but who know? Thanks.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Also fear not your warranty being denied. The Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act (P.L. 93-637) protects you. Just make sure to document everything you do with the car.

I'm going to guess your charger talks over CAN to the bms. I would also have to guess this is why your charger is not turning on. From the manual it looks like you can force the charger on. Use great care, and get a mutli-meter. Should also hunt down some info on what BMS is in your car.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #6