DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys!

New to the forum but excited to be here!!

I guess I actually have a couple build ideas I'd love to do
so I'll explain my goals and hopefully get some ideas
but also hopefully not get to ahead of myself at the same time
as there's a proper order to doing things

So first off, I'm still very new to EV
I've loved the idea of it for a long time
and looked at buying one for quite a while now
but I never bit the bullet to do it

I come from a performance background
I've built many high powered JZ and RB engines
way to many sr20s
and currently building a 1000WHP E85 2011 WRX Hatch (Which I'm still excited for)

All that is good and fine
but I'm also finishing up my degree in molecular cellular biology
with plans to persue higher education (I'm a little behind on the degree thing, I was sick/still am sick for quite a few years, but thats a story in itself)
But I want to help people
that's my end game
And it just hit me one day that by building all these fast fuel burning vehicles and damaging the planet
Than I'd be doing the opposite

So my end goal for electric is to show the people around here (we have a decent drift community)
That electric can be as fun and awesome as an ls1 or inline 6 turbo

The Ideas-----(Finally after that long story lol)

I have a 1993 RX7 shell I've sat on for years waiting to think of what I wanted to put in it
it was originally going to be an L92 6.2 Aluminum V8
That is no longer the plan
I would like for it to be a drift/track vehicle
gutted and caged
ford 8.8 rear
CD009 transmission

The motor will of course have to be able to bolt to the trans, so it will need an adapter plate
and the motor will have length restrictions while still having to make around 350hp/350ftlbs

I need controller/motor/battery ideas
I've seen the AMR engines, but recently saw the BW hvh250 that also has a remy core, could it be used at a lower cost?