DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi everyone,
I'll present several options that I know work super well since I have been using them myself since 2015 without issues.

Expect to need to solder wires together, buy parts on ebay or amazon and to do some wiring while you build your own DIY battery charger. I'll present 16S and 20S LION chargers I have built and use or have made for others.

A little about me...
1. I have been a hobby electronics experimenter since the 1970's.
2. I read stuff, buy stuff, try it out and see for myself if something is workable or not.
3. I don't care if you like what I do or how I do it. I'm presenting my work and my results.
4. Feel free to copy my efforts. This is why I post my work.
5. I really don't care if something was intended for XYZ job or not. CAN it do the job?
6. I build at my own risk. I assume you will too since this is DIY!

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 · (Edited)
DC-DC BOOST chargers: (MEH!)

I don't recommend building a charger this way, but it can be done. Chinese BOOST converters are not very good and you need to seriously derate them or else they overheat and burn out. If its "rated" for 1500 watts, divide that by 3 or 500 watts at least to "guess" at real world wattage. I messed with beefing up a couple of the better Chinese BOOST converters and got them to about 60% of their Chinesium (massively and overly exaggerated) ratings. :mad: