DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
522 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm nearing the point where I'll need to start stuffing EV components into my project, and my fabrication skills are near zero. I plan to hire pros for mission-critical welds (subframe, motor mounts), but for battery boxes and brackets here and there, I was planning on giving it a whirl myself.

I'm a definite beginner, but I'm comfortable with a MIG welder. I was planning on buying a Millermatic, but they're fairly pricey, and I wonder how much welding I'll do in my life outside of this project. Is there a cheap decent alternative? Stick welding? Seems simpler and perhaps good enough. I like aluminum for lightness, but then I couldn't weld stuff to existing parts of the car.

Is there a better place to ask this question that is more focused to fabrication and battery box design? I was just gonna slap some angle-iron together in a cube, and bolt the batteries inside. If I put batteries in the engine bay, it seems wise to have the batteries in some kind of waterproof container, but then I begin to worry about heat dissipation...

Any good links for designing and building battery boxes...?

·
Registered
311 Posts
What is the space available? Is it broad and not very high? Or is it tall with a small footprint?

I managed to fit 18 kWh of battery in the space of the fuel tank of the Honda Prelude with room to breathe, but the Mini is a fair bit more compact than this.

So long as everything is separated from the cabin, and waterproof, you are probably best off working to the shapes available, and attaching to as many existing pickups as you can.

·
Registered
12 Posts