DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Dear community,

I am a beginner and trying to calculate the starting torque for my vehicle project with following specs:
Vehicle mass (with passengers and battery)=1000kg
Motor selection= AC-20 HPEVS depending on the starting torque i calculate

I need to meet the following performance criteria:

1. 0-60kmh in 20 Seconds
2. Vehicle to be driven in urban city traffic like paris, tokyo etc.

Based on this information I have tried to calculate the starting torque needed:

Acceleration from 0-60kmh in ms2 = 0.553
Mass kg =1000

Accelerating force= ma= 553N
Force against rolling R= u m g = 0.01 * 1000*10= 100N

Total tractive force= 653N

Now if this is the force needed to move the car, I want to reverse engineer to get to "motors torque":

Wheel torque = Tractive force * radius tyre in m = 653 * 0.3 = 195Nm

Now it is known that the Motor torque= Wheel torque / Diff Ratio

so assuming a Diff Ratio of 5:1,

a Motor torque= 39 Nm continuous is what I need?

My question:
1. Is this calculation correct and realistic for selecting a motor for my criteria?
2. Which graph should i refer to Torque vs RPM in "Peak" or "Continuous"?

·
Administrator
6,380 Posts
Hi Zaraf
Think about your torque - ask yourself what will happen if you stop and have to then climb a speedbump or a curb

That is probably a more reasonable minimum torque

·
Registered
3,141 Posts
I used my http://enginuitysystems.com/EVCalculator.htm to do the calculations.

I come up with 0.833 m/s^2 for the acceleration, and a force (thrust) of 1082 newtons. For wheels 600mm diameter, wheel speed is 531 RPM at 60 km/h. Power required to maintain this speed is 18 kW or 24 HP. If the motor is running at 3000 RPM the drive train ratio would be 5.6 and motor torque is 57 N-m or 42 lb-ft. A ratio of 5:1 would be a motor speed of 2655 RPM and motor torque of 64 N-m or 47.5 lb-ft.

·
Registered
2,155 Posts