DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m trying to do my first ev build on a Geo Metro I recently got. I ran into a industrial motor for cheep. here are the specs.

I was impressed by the hp rating but it is super heavy and the amount of amps and rpms seem really low to me. My goal is to reach at least 55mph. I’m just getting into ev builds so I don’t know if this will work. Can I use this motor for my build?

·
Registered
1,000 Posts
It’s 3 phase so theoretically yes you could use it for some sort of EV

That said I highly doubt it’s useful enough to drive a Geo Metro 55 mph

It’s rated RPM and power curves + continuous rating really aren’t what you need in an over the road car

·
Registered
6,191 Posts
The rated speed is a direct result of the drive frequency, which is 60 Hz because that's what utility AC power is. It could certainly be driven much faster, but of course there is no indication of how well it would work (electrically), or what speed it can stand (mechanically). To some point, it might be able the same current (and thus produce the same torque if appropriately controlled) at higher speed, thus producing more power, and you would need to do that to make it a practical EV motor; however, there are two issues:
  1. the maximum current at higher speed is unknown
  2. significantly higher speed would require significantly higher voltage

The "AC-" motors from HPEVs are typical industrial induction motors vaguely like this, but wound for much lower voltage operation.

·
Registered
299 Posts
I’m trying to do my first ev build on a Geo Metro I recently got. I ran into a industrial motor for cheep. here are the specs.
I was impressed by the hp rating but it is super heavy and the amount of amps and rpms seem really low to me.
My goal is to reach at least 55mph. I’m just getting into ev builds so I don’t know if this will work. Can I use this motor for my build?
Yes if you can