DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi everyone.

I'm trying to make an electric scooter, but I'd like to avoid hub motors. I came across a video in which an old alternator is used as the kart's motor. However, I'm still questioning the feasibility.

I like the idea of using an alternator because of its cheap power and compactness. The question is, given any old alternator, how would I find out its specs? Voltage, amps, regenerative braking? Are all alternators the same 'under the hood'? Would I expect an alternator from a bigger motor to be more powerful?

Every video I've come across has told me that an alternator is just a three phase motor, so I'd assume it'd work with a matching three phase speed controller. I just hope that it's that simple.

This is my first build. I'd just like some wisdom!

·
Registered
196 Posts
The spec of the car probably makes more difference for the rating of the alternator than the engine size. Look for a luxury car/SUV with a large-screened entertainment/nav system, heated/cooled/motorized seats... the more gadgets it has, the heavier the electrical load, so the alternator should be more powerful.

If you look at alternators in a car parts supplier's catalogue, they may mention the rating (in watts or amps) if a particular model used different parts for different spec levels. For my Peugeot Boxer van (Dodge ProMaster in USA), I can find alternators rated from 70A to 150A, so at 14V that's about 2kw or 2.8hp which is plenty for a single person vehicle.

·
Registered
4,612 Posts
I agree with Emyr that alternator size is related to vehicle equipment rather than engine size. The highest-capacity 12V alternators are likely in trucks for commercial applications, and cars for fleet use such as taxis and law enforcement, although luxury cars are presumably similar. 200 amp units should be available, although 150 amp is likely more common.