DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello people hello 👋. I’m doing my best to understand what parts are required for my build and I’d like to talk about them here if your willing to read about my project.
I’m a professional hot rod builder and fabricator so I’ll be attempting a true DIY conversion on my car.
Ever since I was a young boy I wanted a lifted Chevy van and this year I turned 40 and finally got around to building it. Lifting a 2wd van is not straight ford and not kit existed to pull it off so I had to build the 6” loft kit myself. After 4 or so months of spare time she is on the road and now my daily driver. I just love it lol. But I don’t like the gas bill and to be honest I’ve built so many v8’s I’m not interested in having one in my own car. So I’d like to convert it to an ev. I was thinking the warp11hv would be the best bet. My current v8 probably only puts out about 160hp and probably about 200fp of torque. I drive less than 100 miles a day most any trip I do. And I have loads of space for batteries. My curb weight 6600 lbs. yup she heavy. I’m thinking of using a transmission to help with highway speeds. I sometimes tow with my van also.

·
Registered
4,890 Posts
The one aspect which jumps out at me, which is specific to your van, is that is your only vehicle. I think you need to plan on getting another vehicle for use during the conversion, because this is not going to be a quick process. Even with skills, equipment, and detailed planning in advance, it's unlikely to be a weekend project from driving into a garage and shutting off the engine for the last time, and driving a reliable electric vehicle out of that garage. Many conversion projects never get completed, and those that do routinely takes months to years as do-it-yourself projects.