DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the electric world and just acquired a dated electric trike from a member on here. He has 4 modules of Chevy Volt batteries and they have been sitting out in the elements for a few years in New York. I was curious if there was a way to refurbish these batteries and bring them back to life? I did have good news that the on board charger seems to show signs of life as there was a charger fault lights and it indicated the AC power from the 120V plug was present so maybe the charger wasn't recognizing the minimum voltage it is needing?

Any light or help would be much appreciated.

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Have you done a voltage check? Volt packs have a demonstrated longevity if not abused too much.
I have not done one as of yet. I just know being with the trike being in New York for those winters throughout the years, surely has put a damper on the battery life if anything. Is there a way to "boost" them back to life? What voltage should I be concerned or looking for?

·
Registered
33 Posts
The Chevy Volt battery consists of 288 pouches wired 3p96s. It is split into four modules. From front to back the 96s is broken down into 30s+24s+(18s+24s) with the 18s module on the left side.

The pouches are Li-ion. So if all the pouches are around 3.6 volts the battery is in an intermediate state of charge and probably ok. This corresponds to respective module voltages of 108V, 86.5V, (65V, 86.5V).

These ratios are 5:4:3:4. If the voltages of the four modules are all in those ratios the battery is probably good, if not then you may have a bad module.

If the ratios are all good but the voltages are significantly lower or higher then the battery may be near 0% or 100% state of charge respectively. Anything above 400V total is 100+%, you shouldn't be seeing that.