DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a Chevy Volt with at least 1 faulty temperature sensor in the HV battery. Is it possible to filter out the data from a faulty sensor with a "man in the middle" board between the battery and HPCM2?

·
Registered
385 Posts
I have a Chevy Volt with at least 1 faulty temperature sensor in the HV battery. Is it possible to filter out the data from a faulty sensor with a "man in the middle" board between the battery and HPCM2?
I'm assuming since you refer to the HPCM2 that you don't want to crack the battery case and deal with the BECM or BICMs (understandable). Otherwise if you are getting into the case, it would probably be easier to spoof the analog thermistor signal right at the BICM to battery connector. I'm not a CAN expert but it seems like it would be challenging to interleave the outgoing BECM traffic onto the HPCM2 side without tromping on frames. And vice versa.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I'm assuming since you refer to the HPCM2 that you don't want to crack the battery case and deal with the BECM or BICMs (understandable). Otherwise if you are getting into the case, it would probably be easier to spoof the analog thermistor signal right at the BICM to battery connector. I'm not a CAN expert but it seems like it would be challenging to interleave the outgoing BECM traffic onto the HPCM2 side without tromping on frames. And vice versa.
Yes I don't want to get inside the battery - thanks for your input

·
Registered
2 Posts
I'm doing something like this to try to get balancing working, so I did go inside the battery, but with different connectors you should be able to do this between the HPCM and BECM.
You can use something like this: Teensy 4.0 Triple CAN Bus Board With Two CAN 2.0B And One CAN FD Port
The code is pretty easy, packet in on port 1, check ID if it is the one you want to change, if not, send out port 2 and vice versa.