DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 137 Posts

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi folks,

I would like to introduce myself and my project to the people on this fantastic forum. Converting a car to electric will be quite a challenge for me. I do have some experience working on cars, but I'm not a trained mechanic or engineer. I do have a cutting disk, welder, donor car, and a lot of enthusiasm for a EV conversion, though :)

My goal for this conversion is being able to reach highway speeds (i.e, 100 km/h / 62 mph, this would take the original gas engine 5500-6000 RPM), get a range of 40-50 miles, and keeping the clutch and stock gearbox. I would prefer AC drive with regenerative braking. I am considering a 96v Lithium pack.

As a donor vehicle I wanted something cheap but decent, light weight, and easy to work on. I ended up with a 1987 Citroën Visa. An oldtimer (25 years+) was desired to get in on the road legally here in Belgium (it needs an MOT once with gas-engine, and then never again).

The car cost me 350 euro (500$), and has done 107000km/ 66.5k m. It has the same engine as a Citroën 2cv (652cc, 35 HP), a 4-speed manual gearbox, curb weight is 755kg (1664 lbs), max gross weight is 1090 kg (2400lbs). It has no power steering, power brakes, AC, etc., which should simplify the conversion.

After reading a lot about EV conversions, and EV owners' experiences, I have decided not to go with lead-acid. But, LiFePo4 cells are expensive (much like lead-acid on the long run). After countless hours of searching for somewhat affordable prices, I stumbled upon the Chevy Volt pack-thread on this forum. So I went for what I love most; recycling stuff from scrapyards. After some expensive-ish offers, I came across a battery pack that had 35000km (22k miles) on it for 1250 euro (1700$).

I cautiously disassembled it into 7 pcs. of 48v (2Kw) and 2 pcs. of 24v (1Kw), and made 4 pcs. of 96v (180Ah) out of them.