DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
182 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
After may years of dreaming, I finally have an EV project. I'm now officially the owner of a 1971 Citroen D Super (ID 20) EV conversion. There are very few of these in Alberta. I've never seen one on the road here but I did see one up for sale once. I am a newbie to Citroen's, although I've thought they were cool since my dad told me about them as a kid. I have wanted to build an electric car for a long time, though, and this was an opportunity I couldn't pass up. As far as I can tell it is the first one of these cars to ever be converted to electric and the only one in N. America, making it extremely unique. Here is the link to the former owners EV album page. http://www.evalbum.com/423 I think there may only be 4 of these in the world that have been converted to electric. Sadly, the car hasn't run in 11 years and time weather have taken their toll. It is going to be a huge project to get it on the road again. I expect it to be a long slow process as it needs to be fully restored again. Nevertheless, all the EV parts are there except a battery pack and I'm excited at the prospect that I may actually have a "one of a kind" electric car to drive one day. The fellow who built it has given me the chance to carry on his dream project, so I hope I can do it justice eventually. I look forward to learning from you all as I go along.

·
Registered
5,053 Posts
Congratulations!

That's an interesting car. :)

Where did the original builder put all of those batteries? I assume that the motor is in the location of the crankcase of the original engine, and some of the 16 batteries could be above the motor, but presumably not all of them.

I find Citroëns fascinating, but all I know about them is what I can find online. It looks like a D Super (ID 20) would not have power steering. True?