DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
265 Posts
I've 30kWHr of 2013 Nissan leaf batteries in my little MGB gt. I used to get miles about 3 years ago. I've not done any range rest recently.

I've done about 20k miles in about 5 years. Still going strong.

·
Registered
5,034 Posts
If you can do liquid cooling, I would go with Tesla model 3 batteries.
The Model 3 modules are extremely long - where would you put them? That, along with simply being too new to be plentiful in salvage, is presumably why they are rarely if ever used in conversions. They would have the advantage of likely being available for a decade or so to come.

·
Registered
366 Posts
Hello, anybody out there???
Nobody on this site can recommend a Lithium source for me?
You’re not engaging anyone with their questions or concerns is why. Kinda rude after people are trying to understand what a total noob is trying to do.

Not only are Model 3 batteries not going to fit without major surgery to the firewall/trans-tunnel, there’s also no easy way to get your idea to 144V.

But, go ahead and learn the expensive way. Shipping is the killer. Buy them at a local wrecking yard, or buy a donor car and sell off what you don’t need.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
Hi BGTEV,
One of the cars we have to convert is Volvo's version of the BGT, the Volvo 1800 es. Were you able to get your motor and batteries up front or did you put the batteries in back under the hatch. Thanks for suggesting the Green Energy outlets yesterday. Have tried to contact their Charlotte location as it is near me but have not gotten a response from them yet. Would love to find a east coast lithium battery recyler but most appear to be in Az. or Ca.

·
Registered
265 Posts
Hi BGTEV,