DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Converted an old lead sled..... it came with a 1990s vintage 9" GE 21Hp motor (5BT1346B50 Series) with a Auburn Scientific 700 amp Grizzly controller. Conversion brings in 43 CALB 100AH LiFePO4 watched over by Orion BMS. Vehicle weight is at 2500 pounds.

Car runs great in the flats but limiting myself to 2C current draw.... I can only get to 25MPH when climbing 500 ft over a steep 1 mile (10% grade). Drawing 200 amps continuous for the 3 minute climb raises average cell temps about 2 degrees C.

I'm a newbie to DC motor torque curves...see attached. Should I increase current to 3C or 4C for this limited 2-3 minute duration? I have not found any posts talking about current draw when climbing a hill?

Or is this "old GE motor" tired and needs to be replaced? Would a HPEVS AC-51 provide me better performance in this hill climb challenge?

Thanks for helping in my education....

Attachments

·
Registered
394 Posts
Both my cars have 9" GE motors, and I have to say that hill climbing should never be a problem. These are tough little motors... they do get hot when climbing, but they take the heat very well.

At 200 amps, you are putting out less than 30 kW, which is about right for 25 mph on a 10% grade. We have a 12% grade bridge near my house, and I have hit 70+ kW to maintain 40 mph over it.

I really can't compare amps (since I have a 320 volt pack), but my guess is that you will need almost 400 amps to hold 40 mph on that grade. 400 amps is a lot for a 9-inch motor, and I would not hold that for more than a few seconds.

Keep in mind that the efficiency of a DC motor will drop tremendously when under high loads -- resulting in even more heat. In contrast, a typical AC motor is most efficient at 95 to 120% of its load rating... which would probably be ideal for hill climbing.