DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, I have been interested in an EV for a few years and reading this site (as well as every other one I could find) for a few months now.
I am a mechanic by trade, fabricator by hobby, have enough of a garage that I can make pretty much anything (mill/lathe/cnc plasma table/mig/tig/lots of other stuff) and have enough of an understanding of electrical that I can read schematics with ease or figure out for myself how to connect everything.
After months of dreaming/research a friend gave me a donor vehicle (with the stipulation I use it for my electric vehicle), a base 91 civic hatch (no ps, manual windows, no sunroof, lightest possible option other than a VX) and I am now looking at starting to order some parts.
Planned on using an alternator/vacuum pump combo like my diesel van has to charge the 12v battery for now to run lights etc.
Problem is, I am not sure what the best option is and I don't understand the mathematics enough to make an informed choice.

Choice A: Zilla 156v controller with impulse 9
Cheapest of my options, will probably work ok judging by the specs and what I could find on the EV album.

Choice B: Zilla 156v controller with the warp 9
I cant figure out if this combo would allow a further range over the impulse 9 assuming everything else is equal. If it would allow me to go further, the extra $100 and 30lbs would be worth it.

Choice C: Zilla 300v controller with the impulse 9 and run at 192volts.
I assume this would be pretty quick and I am guessing the best option for overall range and performance, I dont dare use the warp 9 here instead since the civic tranny would probably snap in 2.