DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 1950 Chevy 3100 Pickup in my garage and it has been sitting there as a future project for when I have the time and money to restore it. Recently, I've pondered what it would look like to do an EV conversion vs. the typical hotrod motor and automatic transmission combo, but being new to this forum and largely unfamiliar with EV conversions, I've got more questions than answers. I'm hopeful some smarter minds than me on this forum might be able to enlighten me an a few questions I have out of the gate.

To start, I'll cover the basics:

Your skill level with auto mechanics and fabrication - I'm a decent mechanic, but not much of a fabricator. Decent skills around traditional ICE vehicles and how to maintain them.

The range you are hoping to get (how many miles/charge) - No specific range in mind, but I'd like to be able to drive the truck to/from auto shows, so let's say 150-200 miles.

What level of performance you are hoping to get - I have a 2020 Tesla Model 3 Performance, which is tons of fun to drive. Acceleration and ability to maintain highway speeds are desired, but I'm not looking to take this to the drag strip or run 80mph+ for long durations.

How much money you are willing to put into your project - I've been looking at $30-$50k for a restoration of this truck using ICE components, so something in the same ballpark for an EV conversion. I'm not sure if this is realistic or not, though.

What parts you've already considered, if any. - Tesla motor and battery pack from a RWD donor is as far as I've gotten. Most conversions I've seen use Tesla batteries but non-Tesla motors.

My questions so far are: