DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I should soon have a fully-functional 2015 Tesla Model S 85D. At least I think so; there are a couple details to work out yet. In any case, I find it unacceptable that the roof is fixed in place. I've looked at some "convertibilized" Model S attempts but mostly they're pretty bad. So I have been thinking about yanking the drivetrain and putting it into something else more to my liking. I think my first choice would be a Bentley Continental GT Convertible. If that car has characteristics that make it completely unworkable I would consider various other fancy convertibles...perhaps an Audi A5 or BMW of some description. Something on the larger side, as my daily driver is a 911 and I have a Roadster reserved that hopefully will someday be built. So in other words I have small/fast covered...this one is to be the cool boat convertible instead.

I have some experience with EVs, having done a Chevy S-10 way back in the day. But the 9" brushed DC motor, forklift controller and floodies are to Tesla equipment kinda like a biplane is to an F-22, so I consider that knowledge dubiously relevant. I know my way around a car, mechanically speaking...but I'm certainly no engineer.

So, first question: is this just really, really dumb?