DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,
Working on planning a conversion of my 67 VW beetle to an EV. I have a bit of knowledge working with cars but I’m no mechanic. My current project was to replace a clutch in an X-type jaguar. I am hoping to get a least 100 mile range but 150 would be my goal. If the car can do 65 mph with surf boards on top, I will be happy. Like to keep the cost as cheap as possible, but I would give my budget to be around the 5 to 7k. Any thoughts on the best route forward?

·
Registered
311 Posts
If you want 100 to 150 miles of range and 100 km/h speeds, you might need to at least double your maximum budget, and likely triple it.

Otherwise it's certainly possible with Tesla modules, being the cheapest option for EV batteries right now.

·
Registered
459 Posts
No matter how you slice it, it'll be a lotta batteries, and mileage decreases precipitously at highway speeds. Do you really need that range in a single day, or is it a range-anxiety-avoidance goal?

A Nissan Leaf does maybe 100mi, and a full pack 24kWh is $3,000-4,000 and 400 pounds. The Bug is much lighter, which will help some...less on the highway. It would be tricky to get all the battery modules in the frunk and tucked into the engine bay, but seems doable. If you're willing to lose the rear seat, easy-peasy, and your weight balance would be better than stock.

On the up side, Bugs are well documented swaps, and it would be extremely difficult to wind up with less than double the torque to the wheels over stock with any range over 50mi.