DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello I'm somewhat new to electric vehicles, but know a lot about working on cars in general. Efficiency was not a thought when older cars were produced, heavy engines, heavy bodies etc. So I think replacing a gas guzzler with a powerful electric motor might be pretty cool. I'm looking for a general guide on what parts I might need. I know I need a motor, controller, and battery packs. I'm looking to go with lithium packs but that's about all I know so far. Any input is appreciated.

·
Registered
6,211 Posts
I think that you have a lot of reading to do. :)
Maybe the easiest approach would be to pick a similar project (an older car, of any make or model) in the All EV Conversions and Builds section and see what topics come up. The significant components that you haven't mentioned are connecting the motor to the axle (transmission? reduction gearbox? adapters?), a battery management system (BMS), charger, and DC-to-DC converter.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Sure I'll take a look. I'm hoping to keep the original transmission if possible to keep things simple. I've seen a lot of people mentioning Nissan leaf battery packs. Would it make sense to buy an older leaf and transfer the batteries and charging system over? It seems like the least expensive way as just the battery packs seem to cost more than a whole car.

·
Registered
769 Posts