DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
I'm new to this but in researching many electric motor/drivetrain configurations, it seems pretty straightforward (hah) to replace the entire engine/tran/differential of the Corvair with the motor/gearbox of the 500E, Leaf, I3, etc.....
They both connect to the wheels via side axles, so why not eliminate all of the leaky parts? The geometry appears similar. Love my truck but the ongoing battle of leaks and old engine issues is wearing me out.
I've been measuring and sizing up the fit and am close to starting. Any input is appreciated and I hope to come up with a conversion that is easily adaptable.
It would get a lot of these great old cars back on the road.
Mitch

·
Registered
2,974 Posts
The Ford "Eluminator", "crate motor", is pefect for these kinds of conversions, IMO. I really like the coaxial axle and diff setup, which keeps everything in a fat sausage inline, more or less, with the axles.

Brand new, $3500 for the high powered rear motor from the Mach-E. I just spotted the inverter in their parts listings...another $1700.

I'm hoping they'll publish an app note for interfacing to the inverter, otherwise it's useless. The motor connection is also a bit clunky, but not unusual for anyone doing conversions.

This is going to cave pricing for salvage, and new traction motor standalones (which have sadly become next to worthless now), alike.

Lots of choices - all depends what you can get as much as what's optimal.

·
Registered
7,950 Posts
The Ford "Eluminator", "crate motor", is pefect for these kinds of conversions, IMO. I really like the coaxial axle and diff setup, which keeps everything in a fat sausage inline, more or less, with the axles.

Brand new, $3500 for the high powered rear motor from the Mach-E. I just spotted the inverter in their parts listings...another $1700.