DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I’m finally getting going on my build after reading through these forums and learning a ton from the amazing individuals here. I’ve got the outline of a plan and have only purchased a few of the components. I was hoping to post to lay out my plan and let you all at it to tell me if I’m making a world of hurt for myself. Obviously, there will be challenges with any DIY build, but I’m still learning the basics here and there is a difference between “difficult” and “stupid hard/expensive”.

The first thing I should probably mention is that I want this to be a budget build. Money is a bit tight right now (as is time for that matter) but I want to have a complex, long term project to work on. I’m a mechanical engineer with some experience in high-voltage systems so at least I’m not starting from square one.

My goal is to create a budget EV that is comfortable to drive, modern-ish and can be used as a daily driver when (if) I get it driving reliably enough. My round-trip commute is about 40 miles.

My plan, as of right now, is to use the battery pack out of a 2017 Chevy Volt (purchased) with a DC\DC converter and charger (also from a Volt, not purchased yet) for the power system. I got the battery for a great price. It has a liquid cooling system built in along with a BMS and HV control block I’m intending to utilize. Reusing these HV control components should be a large cost savings as long as they can handle the current I put through them. At least their replaceable in case I push them too far.

For the vehicle I was originally planning on a Mazda Miata for the weight. Unfortunately, those hold their value remarkably well. So now I’m thinking of a 2004 Mazda RX-8 which I keep seeing amazing deals on. The Wankel engines on these go out quickly if you don’t take care of them and I don’t need the engine anyways.