DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all. I'm new to the EV world and just getting started with some small EV projects. I just picked up some A123 26650 hybrid bus battery modules, 40v, and I have a charger from a build I picked up in the winter, a delta quiq 1kw 96v charger. I'm not sure if the charger would be able to charge these modules since it is the higher voltage charger and if so, what's the best recommendation to get these batteries back up to power to make them useful?

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
4,043 Posts
No, it isn't going to work. That voltage is way too low. If you put 2 in series, maybe. But not a single 40V pack.

What is the configuration of the battery module? how many in series and how many in parallel?

·
Registered
1,045 Posts
The charger will charge them.

Then it will overcharge them.

Then they will catch fire.

The charger has no knowledge that these batteries are 40v max, so it will try to charge them to 96v.

·
Registered
4,043 Posts
Matt,
If it was a dumb charger, yes, I'd agree with you.

However, in my experience with these (over 11 years of programming DeltaQ chargers), the charger won't start at that low of a voltage on a 96V charger. I recall the minimum voltage required on this unit is about 60V for the 96V charger to start. If you know otherwise, please cite your sources, as I'd be interested to know more.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the info. I would like to try to get them some what charged for testing purposes so I may try the series of the batteries to see if I can get the charger working. That way I can negate the idea the charger is bad.

I tried to get it to start charging but the internal fault signal was flashing. Here is the model.

This is the model of the charger along with the battery modules. They're 12s8p of the 26650 batteries.

Attachments

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Frodos,