1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Tremelune, thank you for your reply. I am really new to thinking about an EV build, so I'm in the information "sponge" phase. Just for the sake of discussion, assuming the supplier was reputable, there were no quality issues, etc., does this kit make sense for a lightweight EV build? I'm thinking something like a steel frame, fiberglass replica vintage Porsche 356 or Cobra build?
2x 8KW motors, 96V?
Thanks again

·
Administrator
6,120 Posts
No
Makes no sense whatsoever - hub motors are OK for a pushbike -

And even at the $2,000 that is a very suspicious deal

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I guess doing some very simple math - 8 KW is about 10.7 horsepower. So, even times two motors, you're still at 21 HP, which is pretty crummy, even by an "economy" standard.

Are there other technical reasons not to use hub motors? If the power were sufficient, or using 4 instead of 2, are they candidates? I'm still having a hard time understanding the fundamental or practical flaws.

Thanks!

·
Registered
459 Posts
The fear to me isn't the specs, it's the fact that there's no way of knowing the true quality of those components. They could arrive at your door and be 1kW or simply not work...and there isn't much recourse.

Unidentifiable electronics from Ali Baba aren't known for their quality.

·
Registered
80 Posts
Main reasons I can think of against hub motors are;

Low power density, increasing the unsprung weight of the vehicle, low operating speed - most EVs even without multiple gears have a single speed reduction. You can get a lot of torque out of a hub motor, but it's still pretty equivalent to a single motor with a reduction gearbox.