DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am in the early stages of developing a prototype system to connect an EV battery pack into a combined ESS/PV/Inverter system to power the home. Ultimately I think this could be a business opportunity....but I dont want to get too far ahead of myself.

I have worked for a substantial time reverse engineering the Nissan Leaf's CAN network (my background is automotive/EV R&D) and watched Wolftronix's videos with great interest. I think he made it look a bit too easy! Just 2*12V relays to switch it on....really??!? I have a 2014 Nissan Leaf myself but its my daily driver so haven't had the guts to tear it down ... just yet.

I realize there will be significant work in working with the BMS, and ensuring the pack stays healthy....that's hopefully where my experience comes into play.

Ultimately I want to develop something like the attached image.

So my questions to the hive mind are:
  • Has anyone actually done something like this?
  • What were the significant challenges?
  • Is anyone in the UK and up for discussing it?

Attachments

·
Registered
4,768 Posts
This has already been done commercially: bidirectional charging stations allow the EV to export energy to the grid as desired, and this is the same thing without the rest of the EV. So technically it is certainly feasible.

·
Registered
39 Posts
Does this mean you've reverse engineered the leaf charger CAN protocol?

There's a group on this forum who are trying to decode the whole of the Leaf's CAN bus(es) with a spreadsheet here of what's been achieved so far. Charging is sadly missing and it just happens to be one of the things I'm interested in ;).

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4