DIY Electric Car Forums banner

Direction.........?

952 Views 9 Replies 6 Participants Last post by  jbman
I've been building cars all my life. I currently daily drive a '27 Lakes T. Have a '65 Fastback, boosted LS '72 Suburban, '68 FJ40, and several other cars.
The Lakes gets so much attention and is such a fun car, I've thought about building a second one. But doing something a little different. Something possibly considered sacrilegious.
At 1300lbs, it seems like a perfect platform for a EV build!
Unfortunately, I have zero experience with EVs or anything electric.
Fabrication isn't an issue! I can build anything mechanical. I just need some direction as far as best parts to look for and where I might find them.
It's basically a giant go cart, so I don't need any accessories other than headlights.
Only needs 30 mile range or so.
Ideally I'd fab a plate and continue to run a small 5 speed like the nv1500.
I'd like it to be fast, but "fast" is relative and there's no chance it'll be as fast as anything else I've got; that isn't slow.......
Within my collection, it should be the "economical one". And thus, I'd like to build it budget minded.
let me see your parts lists!
Wheel Car Tire Vehicle Automotive tire
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
5,367 Posts
At 1300lb and only underhood available for battery and all other components placement, it's more crap than a good choice for an EV build. Your 30 mile range expectation saves the day there, though.

Take a look at the Lotus 7 builds here. Probably closest to what you might want to try.

A careful build, and a bit o' cash, should kick the butt of anything in your current fleet at road-legal speeds. Quick is the correct word, not fast. All of what you listed is neither (depending on what powers the Lakes, of course).

Keep the weight to 1300 and it'll be economical.

· Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·