DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi all, take it easy on me as I'm just starting in this.
I have a 1957 ford popular 103e, I would like the e to mean electric. The original sidevalve is ok for a bit of fun, but I'm wanting more power/torque to get up hills and keep up with modern traffic. As it is it's a white knuckle ride at 60mph and I'm not looking to go much faster. I am keeping the 3 speed gearbox and will couple that to a motor, but know nothing about these systems. I am an electrician but have little knowledge about motors, besides 3 phase. Any help in pointing me in the right direction to learn about controllers and how the gas pedal will work much appreciated.

I would like a range of 100 miles and 60mph top speed, is that achievable

·
Administrator
6,117 Posts
Hi Pop
First question is - Budget!

Second Question - How sophisticated?

There is
DC - cheap - powerful - unsophisticated
New AC - expensive - wimpy - but more sophisticted
Bits from OEM EV's - medium, powerful - VERY sophisticated

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Ahh, the budget. I like the sound of Damien's €1000 conversion but realistically £2-3000 would be ok. Dc motor basic set up using the clutch and gearbox.

Paul

·
Administrator
6,117 Posts
Hi Pop

For a small car like the popular and a DC conversion you simply don't need the gearbox

If you use direct drive to the diff you can put the motor where the gearbox would have gone and get the whole of the engine bay for batteries

Motor - 9 inch Forklift motor - I've just bought one for $100
Controller - Paul & Sabrina Kit 500 amps 150 v - $600
Batteries - Nissan Leaf pack $4,000 - if you drop the range to about 60 miles a Chevvy Volt Pack - $2,000

My Device is not what you need - I'm using an 11 inch motor and 1200 amps - but it is similar

http://www.diyelectriccar.com/forums/showthread.php/duncans-dubious-device-44370p15.html?highlight=duncan

·