DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I just registered to this website in hopes of getting some direction. I'm a college freshman turning sophomore studying mechanical engineering (with intend to focus on automotive engineering) and ahead in classes so I have the opportunity to do independent research projects. I want to build a road-legal electric car from scratch (save the batteries and motor etc.).
I can get up to $1000 in per trimester, and I can re-take the independent research project class over and over again. I would have to set objectives for each trimester and write a report along with that portion of my car finished. I have a general idea of what is needed but I am lost on where to begin. Some guidance would be greatly appreciated. Thank you :)

·
Administrator
6,088 Posts
Hi
First put your location on the CP - makes things a bit easier!

I built myself an EV from "scratch"

http://www.diyelectriccar.com/forums/showthread.php/duncans-dubious-device-44370p15.html?highlight=duncan

It's great fun! - and road legal

It's also worth looking up "Locost"

Basically the secret of building yourself a car is not to do the things that take engineer decades to design and make

A "basic" car that drives and is safe and fun is about 5% of the work in a modern comfortable car

Use the Collin Chapman (Lotus) approach - Less is More - ask yourself "Do I really need this bit?"

If I was doing it again I would use the folded composite Chassis system

http://www.autospeed.com/cms/article.html?&A=112925

And try and source a complete crashed modern EV for the parts - a Tesla if I was rich or else a Leaf

·
Registered
1,057 Posts
I wish there would've been people doing stuff like this when I was in school. Best of luck.

An interesting place to start would be Damien's £1000 build, including the car: http://www.diyelectriccar.com/forums/showthread.php/1-000-euro-ev-build-193217.html