DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi, I've been studying lithium tech since 2005 and I want to materialize an easy box technology for LiFePO4 and eventually Li-ion cells, to build for small vehicles. It's also a tool to easily re-cycle old car batteries, because the box is compatible with flexible ribbon copper contacts which can wrap over flecks on de-soldered battery terminals.
While this technology isn't applicable to all cells and all chemistries, I'd like to take it as far as possible in EE finesse and erudition of design, with micrographs, asperity surface optimization, tests, EU-US certifications, comprehensive physics data, working with LG/Samsung/Panasonic to find the most reliable cells for this type of system. Price wise it goes from 45 dollars to 125 dollars for a 98 cell box of 18650's, i.e. a complete flat pack DIY battery box will be about $75.

The company can be for profit or non-profit, the priority is not profit, it's technology research, perfect equipment development, low price and good customer service. If you want this technology to become a reality, I'd love your help, please send the project to others. It's going to be free-to-copy for everyone who isn't a multinational company.

·
Registered
3,101 Posts
Interesting & elegant.

It's missing the thermal conditioning side that's required to justify car/truck EV economics.

Might be ok for personal mobility, village hut "powerwalls" so kids can do homework at night, well pumps, power tools, cellphone chargers, etc, but for automotive, needs a lot more work/thought.

·
Super Moderator
1,526 Posts
Who is even making 18650s anymore though? Not laptops (who's even buying laptops anymore anyway?).

Soon not even tool battery packs. The new Dewalts are LiPos.

Making your own battery pack can't be cost effective compared to buying something off the shelf.