DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am converting a BMW Mini Clubman to electric drive with an AC induction motor and Curtis 1238-6501 controller.

The donor car has electric power steering / ABS etc which need road speed and engine speed on CAN BUS to opperate. As the engine is removed, I have lost the signal and the power steering no longer functions. The ebay modules for electric power steering fixes do no work.

I therefore need to recreate the mod bus signals. Is there anyone who has done this before? I have read that you can hack the CAN BUS, but I have no programming knowledge to attempt this. Can the original crank speed sensor be used??

Thanks
Graham2018

·
Registered
4,779 Posts
Can the original crank speed sensor be used??
The crank speed sensor will feed an engine ECU, which you will not have any more, so that sensor doesn't matter. Whatever you get to transmit an "engine speed" on CAN (presumably some programmable box with a CAN interface) does need an input (unless it always generates a fixed speed), but it doesn't matter whether or not the sensor is similar to that used with the engine.

Also, wouldn't the motor controller produce a motor speed signal of some sort? And more importantly, what do you want the "engine speed" to be, to get the desired vehicle behaviour?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you Brian.

I have next to know knowledge of can bus. I have asked Curtis Controllers for details of the can bus, but have not had a reply.

I am not sure if the signal from the crank shaft sensor (or a replacement input) is sufficient to allow the ECU to believe the engine is running, and therefore activate the electric power steering and ABS.