DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,
I'm pretty new to the EV scene. Been kicking the idea around for quite awhile now but life gets in the way, or your young & naive & listen To Someone when they say "It only works for 10 miles then you Gotta charge overnight. Very impractical."
I'm Getting everything together for an electric motorcycle conversion. I see alot of ppl have gone with a 48v motor but it usually tops out at 45mph with a 40 mile top range. The 72v motors can hit 50-70mph but are about a 10-30 mile range.
I realize range is due to the battery, until the better longer lithium comes out.
My question is, if I attach an alternator to the bike, hooked up like a tensioner, wouldn't that work to recharge the batteries therefore making my range limitless?
Any tips, suggestions, even criticism is welcome. I just wanna learn.

·
Registered
4,061 Posts
with a load on the generator, it resists turning, so while it can "recharge" the batteries if being pushed, it'l take more energy to push it than it generates, so it'l actually slow you down.

http://www.diyelectriccar.com/forums/showthread.php?t=13449&highlight=perpetual

You'd be better off with a generator, or spend more on batteries for more range, or just get an ICE motorcycle to begin with.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I already have a '96 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 but I want a ev & I love motorcycles so why not a eBike? I'll look into generators. Thanks

·
Registered
4,061 Posts
What range do you "NEED" and what top speed do you "NEED"..... notice that I didn't say "want", but what are your absolute requirements for both?

A generator is going to need to be at least 5kw to power enough for cruising, at a low speed, and then you'd need power conversion equipment to get from generator to pack voltage.

In the end, the weight, space and cost is better put into batteries.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5