DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys!

To start I must inform you that I don't have much knowledge about electric cars, I'm just an enthusiast who worries too much about the changes that are happening in the world and I don't want to be left behind, and I am an Industrial Engineer and mechanic...

I've been watching videos about electric cars do some researches, I can see that all electric cars have the same common problems which are the batteries of course, and why most e-cars have only one gear or two?

With some more research, I found out why which is logical! but what I can't wrap my head around is why using so powerful motor with high torques that uses more electricity while the technology behind the batteries is not so efficient.

My question is can I use a less powerful motor with low torque with a 5-speed transmission where the trans will help provide low-end torque to compensate for the less powerful motor and use less energy and gain more kwh. Am I making sense?
Since you guys have more knowledge please educate me!

My regards.

·
Registered
187 Posts
Using a transmission can make your vehicle work better with a lower power motor and will help the performance if your motor is undersized.
It's only a few percent more efficient though. Generally a motor takes the same amount of power to produce the same horsepower no matter the torque or speed, it's not like a gas engine where there is a 'power band' or more gas consumed at higher revs.

·
Registered
6,239 Posts
but what I can't wrap my head around is why using so powerful motor with high torques that uses more electricity while the technology behind the batteries is not so efficient.