DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 69 Posts

·
Registered
329 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, folks!

I'm very new to the electric scene, but I am familiar with ICE cars. I've done an engine swap in a jeep, helped with some clutch and transmission replacements, and done everything on my '66 Mustang short of rebuilding the engine myself. I'm familiar with all of the standard systems, so I have absolutely no concerns as far as the car itself and the standard systems in it.

What I am not familiar with is how this goofy electric motor works! I decided that I want to use a 3 phase, AC industrial motor. I found one that I like for a good price. My concern is how to power it, and how to link it to the drivetrain. From what I've been reading, I can wire up a bunch of batteries in series, and then run that through an inverter, through an AC motor controller, and finally to the motor itself. A variable resistor of some sort is actuated by the throttle linkage, and away I go. I figure I'll get a vacuum pump with a hobbs switch for the brakes, and either an electric power steering pump (I have one from a Mini in my Mustang), or some sort of EPAS column.

I'm not certain what vehicle I want to swap, yet. That's the easy part, in my mind, and cheap beaters in reasonable shape are plentiful.

I'm struggling to find an inverter, and I'm not even sure what rating of inverter I need. The motor I'm looking at is rated for 11.5kw, and it says 20 horsepower on the tag. Likes like a pretty big boy! Do I need an inverter rated for 11.5kw (plus whatever safety margin) constant? The motor I'm looking at will run on 230 or 460, is there any reason I couldn't wire the batteries in such a way to get the 12/24VDC that many of the inverters I'm seeing require, and use the 230VAC output for the motor? I gather that more voltage is less amps is less heat, so should I go for the 460 instead?