DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, My name is Philip and this website has already helped me answer a few questions. I intend to document my EV conversion here, and hope to get pointers and suggestions.

My background is sailing and I have lived aboard my sailboat for the past 11 years and did all my own engine work. My largest engine project was changing the damper plate between my Isuzu 6BD1 diesel engine and Borg Warner Velvet Drive.

I have selected a car produced here in SE Asia for my first conversion that weighs 850 kg (1870 lbs). It is a small hatchback and I hope to fit batteries under the rear seat. The gasoline version is equipped with a 1.0 liter engine that produces 67hp (50kw) at 6000 RPM and a torque of 91 Nm.

I have initially selected a 15kw AC motor that weighs in at 60kg (132lbs) and produces 150 Nm and has a rated speed of 4500 RPM. Motor drawing attached. The controller receives 96 VDC from the battery bank and I may first build one with a very limited range and a scalable battery bank. Each battery stores 20aH at 96 volts and I have estimated 2 batteries and 40aH will give a range of about 32 km without AC. Up to 4 of these batteries will be in the bank depending on range I want to achieve. Once past 4 batteries, if I need that range, my option is an integrated battery pack with 140aH.

Thank you for everyone that posted pictures and details of connecting the motor to an existing transmission. That is my number one concern. Here in are my first questions.

#1 - I have the option of selecting an exisitng vehicle with a manual 5 speed or with an automatic transmission. I gather if I go the route of the 5 speed the integration of the clutch plate is more difficult. Eventually I will want to create a mounting plate and couplings for both types of transmissions available for this car. Is it easier to do my first conversion using the automatic transmission?