DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hiya folks,
Apparently I joined this forum 6 years ago and never posted anything!

But I'm back and ready to give it a go.
So I have a short school bus/skoolie turned RV. It's basically a Ford E350.

I'm pondering ways to make this more environmentally friendly drive. I've got some ideas on how to increase the MPGs, but then I get to thinking about converting to an electric drivetrain.

So I'm hoping you kind folks can help me figure out if this is even feasible or if it should remain as a dream project for now.

Here's what I am thinking:
-100-200 mile range on electric.
-On board generator for emergencies and for days when I need to cover a bit more miles
-Two motors, one on the rear axle and one on the front axle.
-48v batteries, this will allow me to use off the shelf electronics to tie in the PV array and also use commonly available generator.

I've never done an EV conversion before, but I've done all sorts of automotive work and I'm comfortable with electrical work too.

I work for a solar PV installation company so I'll be able to get Lithium batteries at whole sale cost as well as the related PV equipment.

I'm trying to figure out what kind of battery pack I'd need to squeeze into this thing to make this a reality.
I'm not sure of the calculations required but with the old diesel engine I'm getting about 13-14 mpg.

Any advice or help would be appreciated!

·
Registered
1,150 Posts
About once a season on average, someone shows up here wanting to do an electric RV to save money.

No one ever has. I suspect, because the case against doing so is very poor.

You could be an exception, but probably not.

Here's a thread from a week ago: https://www.diyelectriccar.com/forums/showthread.php?t=202713

Same logic applies to you.