DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, all. I just wanted to share with you all my Ford Ranger Electric project that I've been working on for a few months now. I actually have two Ford Ranger Electrics that I'm restoring (a 1998 PbA and a 1999 NiMH). I've been an on and off participant and long-time lurker here at DIY Electric Car for years, so I wanted to share and give back a little. This is just an initial video, but as I dive more into the details of these Ford Rangers, I hope it can provide some insights and tips to DIYers who are looking at how these trucks were put together and the potential for restored or converted EVs.

Of course, any feedback or questions are welcome. Thanks!

·
Registered
6,239 Posts
A couple notes about topics mentioned in the video...

Induction motor efficiency is not as bad as suggested. Look at a motor efficiency map for a Tesla Model S and it doesn't look much different from the permanent magnet synchronous motors. My guess is that you're thinking of the inefficiency of an industrial induction motor driven at constant (line) frequency starting from zero speed or being loaded too heavily and thus slipping excessively; an EV motor (or any motor properly run by a variable-frequency drive) never runs in that condition. Even at stall, the driving frequency adjusts to produce the optimal slip speed for maximum torque.