DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

· Premium Member
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, This seems to be an ongoing issue but I'm still foggy. My conversion has a battery pack with eight 64v LG batteries for 500v.
I'm splitting them up with two fuses in a 3-2-3 manner. I have a DTI controller and Emrax228MV motor. The peak power is 124kw that puts me around a 250 amp max. As I understand, the eight batteries in series essentially makes them one big batteries voltage-wise.
The question is how do I size the fuses? Two 250 amp or two 125 amp?
It is a very basic truck. The only other loads are low voltage for the water pump, cooling fan, lights, etc...

Attachments

· Premium Member
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I'm seeing that 1/0 wire can handle 300 amps so a 250 amp fuse obviously will handle that. I'm new at this but if I put more than one fuse within the battery configuration, do each of the fuses need to be 250 or do I divide that by the number of fuses.
Thanks for reaching out

· Registered
2,056 Posts
Each fuse needs to be sized for the wire rating. In your case one 250 rated DC. Do not parallel lesser value fuses to make up the fusing current since that causes erratic and dangerous behavior. Don't Ask me how I know. Also realize your 250 will probably allow more current than 250 to flow for a while until it melts. I use a 450 AND have documented 600 amps in the circuit for a monemt or so without failure. However it will still fail before the insulation melts

· Premium Member
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·