DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings all
Does anyone on here have experience with Gen 3 Nissan leaf cells?
I have recently acquired some for revitalizing my (4 wheeled) Zap pickup (its been sitting for 4 years).
They seem to come in 3P9S modules (32.85V) and 3P4S (14.6V) Nominal modules.

I am considering re-configuring them to a simple 35S pack,
then using the stock CHWP-12008 charger, with some minor reprogramming.
That would be:
147V Maximum
127.75V Nominal
105V Minimum

Charging to 144V would be approximately 4.11V cell.
Total pack weight 271 Lbs about 400lbs lighter that the old (long dead) AGM's
I have little experience in EV sizing but experience as an electrician, so your input and thoughts are appreciated.
From what I can tell of the motor in this Zap its:
Battery Full charge Volts​
144​
Nominal Volts: (DC)
120​
Continuous rating kW​
19​
Continuous rating hp​
25.2​
Peak output (kW)​
68.3​
Peak output (hp)​
85​
Average speed MPH​
35​
Peak amps:​
569.17​
Continuous Amps:​
158​
Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Hello Tortuga, I’m in a similar place. I am awaiting delivery of 8 of the 3P4S modules. They will be the traction pack for a long sitting VW Pickup that was set up for 120v flooded lead acid pack of 20 6v US125 batteries. My motor is a 8 inch Advanced DC, and controller a Curtis 1221. See Joe Miller's 1981 Rabbit Pickup White Rabbit for what I have to start with.