DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just registered with this site today and am thinking about beginning an EV conversion. I snooped around the site a little before registering and found a lot of great info and a lot of knowledgeable folks. I have no experience with the EV world, but I have done some DIY in the petrol world. I've replaced engines, transmissions, wiring, brakes, etc. I am by no means a mechanic, but I can usually get done what I need at home, although it takes me about twice as long as paying someone to do it. I have a pretty good set of tools and best of all, great friends who have every tool I could possibly ever need. I'm looking to start this project as sort of a hobby, but want it to look professional, be safe, and functional.

I have a 1973 Super beetle that I drove home and completely disassembled. It is in boxes, every single bolt, screw, bulb, wire, glass, engine, everything is apart. Body is on sawhorses. I have a ledger that I took notes in as to what I did to disassemble every part along with drawings, wrench sizes, etc in the order I took it apart, so I think I can get it back together pretty easily. I also wrote down everything that was obviously broken or worn out so I can replace it. Honestly, it is the easiest car to work on I have ever seen.