DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
510 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello DIYers,

I've been driving on my Pb batts for a couple of years now. And I can't help but daydream about converting the car to Lithium. I've been saving money and doing the numbers on when I can finally commit to the upgrade. It seems that early next year, Jan/Feb might be a good time.

Anyway, I've mentioned a group buy to some local converters and I've got a few on board. We haven't discussed which batteries yet, and where to get them from, but we're in the research phase.

Since we've got 3 months or so to plan this all out, we've got time to save up some more cash and do it right. Who knows, maybe the price will drop in the meantime as well.

Initial frontrunners are Alliance Renewable with $1.08/Ah pricing and possibly A123 cells from China (worth checking with A123 regarding authenticity) at $1.30-$1.50/Ah. I'm keeping a spreadsheet with the best values. If you have any suggestions or links, please throw them my way. The more options we have the better, right now.

The plan is to save our money on the shipping/customs by having it come in one shipping container. I can borrow a box truck and pick up the batteries directly from the Port of LA (that's going to be a wild experience). I can even store for a short time and distribute the batteries in a warehouse in downtown LA, near The Brewery. If you want in on this group buy, please let me know via this thread. I'll add you to the list.

Unfortunately, I don't have the money to cover the purchase for everyone. So you'll have to meet me and learn to trust me, so you can fork over the money before we purchase the batteries. I'm not making exceptions with thousands of dollars at stake. We're going to take the plunge in January/February or so.

You in?

Here's to a speedy EV!

·
Registered
2,123 Posts
Alliance is a US based distributor, so I don't get how group buy applies to them :confused: