DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys and gals, long time mechanic and tinker sick of replacing parts in my truck so I wanted to convert to electric. Researching now as I am totally new to EV vehicles.

Truck is a 1965 chevy c10
And to do an ac motor, controller with regen braking, life po4 batteries.

I know this is a bad candidate for EV conversion but I love the look of it even if it is a flying brick.

Things I’m trying to figure out that I haven’t found in research yet.
- can I run a propane generator and charge the pack while I’m driving? I have a 6500 watt generator that I was going to convert to propane and keep in the bed of the truck just in case I can’t charge anywhere but it would be nice if I could charge on the fly and extend my range as well.

-also what’s the ideal ratio range? I will be using a transmission, and can swap the axle gears, but I haven’t really found info on what would be the ideal range for motors. Like is there a rule of thumb that you are trying to hit or do people just bolt up to a car trans and run the motor like an ICE motor?

I’m sure there will be a ton more questions as I research this and get closer to pulling the trigger. Thanks in advance and it’s nice to meet u all.

·
Registered
4,791 Posts
life po4 batteries
LiFePO4... but "LFP" is a common short-form which is easier to type. :)

Truck is a 1965 chevy c10

I know this is a bad candidate for EV conversion but I love the look of it even if it is a flying brick.
It's aerodynamically bad (about as bad as they come!), but there have been others just as bad (such as an older Land Rover).

At least pickup trucks it should have decent room for battery packs (at least with a long box), but the trailing arms of those old Chevrolets will get in the way. I wouldn't want the whole battery in the fuel tank space behind the rear axle.